It’s the Anticipation

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think.  Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.  ~A.A. Milne

Way down at the bottom of my last post, I shared some very exciting news.  Three of my photos had been chosen to appear at the LightBox Photographic Gallery’s “Plastic Fantastic” show.  I’m not ashamed to say that the excitement of being notified of my selection in that juried show led me to send numerous mails and call close friends who would understand what that meant.  Honestly, I felt like a kid again.

I realized too that I really enjoyed the anticipation of finding out.  It was approximately two weeks from the time I submitted till the time I was notified.  On top of that, the original notification date was on a Friday, but then they said they had received so many good entries that they needed till that Sunday to decide.  All weekend I was on pins & needles, like Pooh with his Honey, when anything was possible.

That’s also part of the reason I love shooting film.  The anticipation between the moment the shutter clicks and the time you finally have a good print or scan is truly blissful, scary and exciting.  It’s kind of a rush, actually.  With the Holga, it’s amplified because of the wonderful surprises you get with light leaks, flare, etc.  Some work, some don’t, but when it happens, it’s like getting a Christmas gift that wasn’t on your list, but is perfect for you.

And then there’s when you look at a print of yours and you get this weird feeling like “Who shot that?  Damn, that’s good”.  Then you remember it was you and there’s a strange sense of disbelief.  Some weird inner war going on between the left and right sides of your brain.  Another rush.

This feeling is very addictive.  I remember my friend Ian Whitehead talking about a shot he got of The Wave down in Arizona.  When someone asked if he was going back there any time soon, He said “Nope…I got it”.  The sense of fulfillment in his voice was palpable.

There are many reasons I chose photography as my creative outlet, and the joy of anticipation is definitely one of them.

Leave a Reply

