The Importance of a Muse

 

…..I struggle with enormous discrepancies: between the reality of motherhood and the image of it, between my love for my home and the need to travel, between the varied and seductive paths of the heart. The lessons of impermanance, the occasional despair and the muse, so tenuously moored, all visit their needs upon me and I dig deeply for the spiritual utilities that restore me: my love for the place, for the one man left, for my children and friends and the great green pulse of spring. – Sally Mann

I’m lucky enough to have a muse.  Someone who inspires me, encourages me and drives me to expand my vision.

Having a muse can mean a struggle with reality, as Sally Mann eludes to.  A struggle for your time, the demands of life, other people.  But a muse can also give you wings to soar above life into the realm of artists…and there’s no better feeling than that.

Sometimes a muse can be a person, sometimes it can be a place, a particular piece of art, etc.  Some photographers spend a lifetime exploring one place in depth, and that’s what drives them.

What inspires you?

4 comments

  1. I’m not sure whether or not I actually have a muse but I do have several people who help me explore where I’m going on my journey. They’ve been instrumental in helping me understand and access my artistic vision (still very much the works). If struggle with reality is an ingredient, then I’d definitely consider these people my muses.

  2. Wow, Mark this question really stumped me. I always talk about following my gut when I see something that makes me raise my camera up to my eye. To not question, just get the image. But I honestly don’t think I can articulate what that thing is. As I sit here and ponder, I can only tell you that it’s my heart.

  3. Chris, it took me many years to figure out what type of photography really turned me on. In the meantime, your method of following your heart is a great way to find out.

    Mark

Leave a Reply

