About a book

book2

“Art is never finished, only abandoned.” Leonardo da Vinci

Some of you know that I’ve been working on a book for months now.  It was supposed to be out at the end of last year and I still haven’t finished it.

What you see above is a proof book – the final book won’t look anything like that.  I used it for sequencing, editing and testing form factors.  And it will never see the light of day.

Why not?

I’m just not happy with it. It doesn’t convey the emotion that I want it to, I still don’t have the sequencing exactly right, and I still haven’t decided on the final structure.

I’ve learned a lot in the process.  All about bindings, printing techniques, minimum orders (yikes!) , editing, sequencing, how books are laid out, and the myriad of options to make a book play as a cohesive object.

The biggest challenge for me is the printing.  The photos inside have a unique quality that I have yet to see in a printed page.  They require inky deep blacks and brilliant whites in order to create the impact I need.  That works great on a photographic paper, but is very hard to find in a printed book.  I’ve done tons of tests, met with lots of printers and haven’t met one that could do it at the price point I need/want.

High-end custom printers can quickly approach $700 – $800 per copy, and while I want this to be a “legacy project”, I just can’t justify that cost in my mind.

So I’ve set it aside for the moment.

I need to look at the very definition of a book and see if I can come up with a creative solution that can still retain the qualities I need in order to feel like this project can be called complete.

It’s a frustrating time right now, but I need to wait until I can discover the solution.

Until then, thank you for your patience.

Mark

3 comments

  1. Mark, I am thinking about doing a course in hand bookbinding. I was thinking of seeing whether it was feasible to make a book with handprinted photos (or at the very least professionally printed photos.) That would be pretty “legacy” to do it that way. I wonder if that’s something you could consider?

  2. Hi. I’ve definitely been looking at that. There are a number of challenges with that approach in that there are no two-sided papers that capture the quality I need. But there are many options and that’s certainly one of them.

Leave a Reply

